3 kinds of mess: a clarty, sottery bourach

I’m indebted to James Lawther for dusting off a word I haven’t heard since I was a kid

I remember “clarty” being waved in my direction, generally attached to “mess”.

When not being accused of making a clarty mess, I was usually in a bit of a sotter or making a bourach (and until I looked it up just now, I couldn’t have told you how to spell that).

A clarty mess is sticky like honey. 

A sotter is generally a wetter sort of mess altogether.

A bourach is a general, untidy muddle; much like my childhood bedroom or, until recently, my adult office.

 

About Andrew Munro

An independent business consultant, interim manager and writer, Andrew operates through his company, Burning Pine Ltd (http://burningpine.com).
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

