Casual sexism in a cold cure

I was standing in Waterloo tube station the other morning, idly watching the video billboard.  Up popped a ghoulish cartoon image of a very stressed girl with green snot dripping from her nose.  The gloriously catastrophizing speech bubble said something along the lines of “Oh no, I have a cold and now I can’t go on my date with xxx and I’ll end up a lonely old cat woman.”  Never fear, the magic cold remedy (can’t recall the brand) would save the day.

The screen cleared and up popped a ghoulish cartoon of a very stressed guy with glasses, a beard and green snot dripping from his nose.  The gloriously catastrophizing speech bubble said something along the lines of “Oh no, I have a cold and I can’t go to this important meeting and sneaky Pete will steal my promotion.”  Never fear, the magic … well you get the picture.

Silly, vapid, pointless, transient.  And yet…

Made me think.

About Andrew Munro

An independent business consultant, interim manager and writer, Andrew operates through his company, Burning Pine Ltd (http://burningpine.com).
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

