BT Phone Book – Why?

I went out of my front door on Sunday to discover a British Telecom telephone directory on the doorstep.  I took it inside, stripped off the (non-recyclable) plastic cover and went out the back door to drop the book in the recycle bin.  I then spent the rest of the day feeling irritated.  What a waste.

Why can’t I have the option not to receive a phone book?  I never use it. In fact, I found two older ones still in their plastic on the book shelf.  Can’t I have a simple "no, thanks" return slip?  A web-site where I can go and say, "thank you all the same but I don’t need these thousand pages of names and numbers"?

I wonder what it costs BT to produce these?  I imagine though, that the cost of having some sort of selective delivery rather than a "dump one at every door" approach renders any attempt to save the environment as too expensive.  Of course, they could always deliver the books en masse to a recycling plant and save all the delivery fuel. 

I wonder how many people would actually complain in this age of mobile phones and web access.

 

About Andrew Munro

An independent business consultant, interim manager and writer, Andrew operates through his company, Burning Pine Ltd (http://burningpine.com).
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

